open wound

detail, The Incredulity of Thomas, Caravaggio, 1601-2

[see http://www.edgeofenclosure.org
Easter 2 (year A)
“awe of understanding”]

The mother can lay her child tenderly to her breast, but our tender Mother Jesus can lead us easily into his blessed breast through his sweet open side, and show us there a part of the godhead and of the joys of heaven, with inner certainty of endless bliss. -Julian of Norwich

One day Krishna’s mother saw her little son eating dirt. Alarmed, she ran to him and ordered him to open his mouth so that she could scoop out the mouthful of dirt. When Krishna opened his mouth she saw the whole universe inside.

That’s the story I think of when the resurrected Jesus commands Thomas to place his fingers into the wound: the wound as portal to the healing of the universe. Julian of Norwich writes about seeing the wound in Jesus’ side, “and there he revealed a fair and delectable place, large enough for all mankind…”

Why should I despair over my own woundedness? Don’t my wounds draw me closer toward the wounds of Christ? And surely my own brokenness transfigures into empathy for the wounds of my fellow human beings.

Take my brokenness, then, and draw me through that wound You revealed for Thomas, toward Yourself. Transfigure me with Your own compassion, that I may love others with Your own love. 

2 Responses to “open wound”

  1. Gaye Says:

    this is a new way to think sbout healing …. not so easy to get my head around

  2. claire Says:

    Interesting, Suzanne. This past week I had a moment in which I came upon a ‘hole in me.’ A scary hole, much bigger than I am really. While this hole scares the wits out of me, I found out that Godde is at the bottom waiting for me to jump and hug Her, Strange isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

