Have you seen Him who my soul seeks?

Maria Magdalene stabat
libretto from motet by
Chiara Margarita Cozzolani     1602-c1677
Mary Madalen stood at the tomb, weeping; while she mourned, she turned to the tomb, and saw two angels in white sitting there, and said to them:

M: Have you seen Him whom my soul seeks?

Angeo 1&2: Woman, why do you week? Whom do you seek?

M:They have taken away my Lord and I do not know where they have put Him. I searched for him in the night and did not find him.

Angelo 1: Who is your beloved among beloveds, o most beautiful of women?

M: My beloved is white and ruddy, chosen among thousands; completely lovable, completely desirable.

Angelo 2: Tell us, Mary, who is your beloved?

M: My beloved is beautiful among the sons of men; He is the crucified Jesus.
 O my light, where are you? O my love, where are you? O my life, where are you? Come, my beloved, for I languish for your love. I am dying for your love.

Angelo 1&2: Why do you seek the living among the dead? He is risen, he is not here, he will go before you to Galilee.

Weep no more, but rejoice and be glad.

Tutti: Let us therefore say, jubilant, joyful, singing loving: alleluia.
 O bright day; O fortunate dawn; O sweet day; O blessed day; let us sing songs and psalms, let us love, let us sing: alleluia.

Chiara Margarita Cozzolani      1602-c1677

picture: Christ and Ecclesia as Bride and Groom, Unknown Illustrator of Petrus Comestor’s Bible Historiale, 1372

Leave a Reply

