You will liberate my heart…

Assist us mercifully with your help, O Lord God of our salvation, that we may enter with joy upon the contemplation of those mighty acts, whereby you have given us life and immortality; through Jesus Christ our Lord, Amen.
                               – prayer from the liturgy of Palm Sunday

And now I enter the occupied city alongside you, with the donkey and her foal, waving branches and singing. You will liberate my heart from oppression, from my sins, my mistakes and grievances, memories of pain, the ugliness of my thoughtless betrayals against those close to me and those far away.  You will enter the den of thieves that is my soul and turn the tables over and restore me to my house of prayer. You will let me wash your feet with my hair and fill the room you have prepared for me with expensive scent. You will invite me to the table and my cup will spill over with abundance.  And I will follow you and wait with you and pray with you (God help me!). And you will die for me. And you will promise me paradise as I beg you to remember me.

And then I will wait for your uncreated light to seep into the darkness of my unknowing.  And you will come and draw me to yourself, so that where you are I may be also.

Entry into Jerusalem, Pietro Lorenzetti, c.1320

3 Responses to “You will liberate my heart…”

  1. claire Says:

    Beautiful, Suzanne. I can pray this, again and again. 🙂

  2. Rebrites Says:

    simply beautiful. Thank you very much.

  3. Chris Says:

    Thank you for this vision and this prayer.

Leave a Reply

