always preparing

In local news: St. Nicholas sneaked into to the convent leaving each of us a package of hand cream and a golden bag of chocolate gelt in our mailboxes today (his feast day).  There’s a dusting of snow on the ground. 

How is it that the quality of Advent permeates the house, the light outside, the tone of the day? Not just because it is December and the daylight IS extraordinary and muted, as if hinting at glory not immediately available but promised nevertheless, and not just because a few little doors of the Advent calendars fold open, or the chants and antiphons wind through my mind, in pleasing counterpoint to the rhythms of the day.

Maybe it is that one Advent superimposes itself upon the other, so that I enter a rich Advent continuum like coming home to all the Advents I’ve ever prayed. This year particularly, my anxieties have quieted, and I’ve slowed down, not far enough but farther than ever before, contributing to the awareness of the season’s anticipatory magic.
 
I almost wrote, “as far a I’m concerned it could stay Advent forever,” but, intrinsically impermanent, the point of Advent is preparation for the world turning upside down and accepting what will come. It’s like saying, “I think I’ll just stay here in Purgatory, thank you, it’s quite nice enough.” Therefore… even more reason to stay in the moment, watching, waiting.

Therefore I say: In every gift, in every work, we ought to learn to look toward God, and we should not allow ourselves to be satisfied or be detained by any thing. Whatever our way of life may be, we must not cease to progress; this has been true for everyone, however far he may have advanced. Above all else, we should always be preparing ourselves, always renewing ourselves to receive God’s gifts.

-Meister Eckhart 1260-1327
Quoted from Ordinary Graces: Christian Teachings on the Interior Life

One Response to “always preparing”

  1. claire Says:

    I am with you. Yes, it could be Advent for ever. Or let us say that I am in no hurry to see it reach its advent… I like this expecting, waiting time of the Liturgical Year. Maybe I hope that the longer Advent is, the more time I have to change and prepare myself for His arrival 🙂

Leave a Reply

